It’s been a while

Hi all,

Being a part time writer is simply lovely.

I’ve written the entire first series of SPOILERS, I’ve written both episodes of DEFENCE, I’ve started my own detective drama entitled LAKE. It’s been such a productive time!

Now, LAKE warrants a moment’s consideration.

This is why every writer needs a wife who pushes them into greater things, rather than rolling their eyes at the amount of time they spend making things up.

I was in a rut. I was adapting old work and trying to make it work. I was afraid. I thought I didn’t have any new ideas.

And one morning my wife casually mentioned to me that I love BROADCHURCH, so I should write my own murder mystery.

By the end of the day I had the bare bones of a story, and to date I’ve written the first draft.

I can very highly recommend doing something that scares you. The first time I watched BROADCHURCH I thought it was beautifully structured, the facts were disseminated expertly, every character was memorable, and that denouement hurt. A lot. BROADCHURCH mattered.

So, inevitably, I thought it was something unattainable. A level of drama I could never write.

And I’m not saying LAKE is as good as BROADCHURCH. That’d take more arrogance than even I could believe I’m capable of.

The point being; If there’s a genre you haven’t tried but you love, a style you want to attempt. Go for it. You’re a writer. At the very least you owe it to yourself to attempt it.

There are two other exciting projects I don’t really want to say more about right now, aside from the fact one of them is a feature film and one is a web series, and there is the promise of money involved when it exists.

I’m looking forward to the day when it’s not a big deal to be offered money to write things, but for now; I’ll take that!

It’s also fantastic looking back at my previous blog post, I posted about four MARVEL films that I’m excited about.

I’ve now seen three of them.

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2 was just grin inducing. I wanted to go back and watch it again immediately. Andrew Garfield is completely the perfect Spider-Man, Dane Dehaan… Well. That guy just has to show up and he’s fantastic. I really feel the “too many villains” argument a lot of reviewers threw at it was just a really easy cheap shot, when the film was actually like watching a relay race, with the baton being handed from villain to villain, focal point to focal point, careering towards that conclusion. I loved it.

CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER was, in the truest sense of the phrase, Game-Changing. Again an overused combination of words, but what this film means for the Marvel cinematic universe, then watching those seismic shifts ripple into AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. was so ambitious and so exciting. And even completely ignoring the impact of The Winter Soldier on the wider cinematic universe, it was a spectacular film in its own right. The character of Steve Rogers has been left in such a fascinating place for AVENGERS; AGE OF ULTRON next year. Bring that film on soon!

X MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST. Where do I start? An absolute triumph from start to finish. Bryan Singer absolutely belongs in the X Men universe and he just stepped in, took the franchise over and steered it back on course. It’s really hard to gush about this film without too many spoilers, but it expertly married together the journey First Class began and the X Men films that started fourteen years ago. Gosh.  Fourteen years. And may it go on for fourteen more. X MEN: APOCALYPSE is on the way!

My personal future and the future of the art I love is moving into a more and more exciting place.

And the anticipation of the ride ahead is almost unbearable.

Leave a Reply

